NYU Stern
Share / Print

Full-Time Faculty

Information, Operations, and Management Sciences Full-time Faculty

The IOMS department combines the existing strengths and capabilities of its three constituent groups and capitalizes on some of the significant synergies among these groups.

The IOMS faculty groups:
  • Information Systems
  • Operations Management
  • Statistics
Please click on the tabs at the top to learn about our Full-time, Adjunct, and Emeriti faculty.

Information Systems Full-time Faculty

Founded in 1973, the Information Systems (IS) department was one of the first such departments in a business school. The Information Systems Group now has 12 faculty members, with backgrounds in a wide range of fields including computer science, management, and sociology, and are united by a common interest in the use of information technology to increase the effectiveness and efficiency of organizations.
 
 
 
Name Title Phone E-mail
Yannis Bakos Associate Professor of Information Systems 212-998-0841 bakos@stern.nyu.edu
Vasant Dhar Professor of Information Systems
Head, Information Systems Group
Co-Director, Center for Business Analytics
212-998-0816 vdhar@stern.nyu.edu
Anindya Ghose Professor of Information, Operations and Management Sciences
Robert L. & Dale Atkins Rosen Faculty Fellow
Co-Director, Center for Business Analytics
212-998-0807 aghose@stern.nyu.edu
Ralph Gomory Research Professor 212-998-0327 rgomory@stern.nyu.edu
John Horton Assistant Professor of Information, Operations and Management Sciences 212-998-0369 jhorton2@stern.nyu.edu
Panos Ipeirotis Associate Professor of Information, Operations and Management Sciences
George A. Kellner Faculty Fellow
212-998-0803 panos@stern.nyu.edu
Steve Koonin Director, Center for Urban Science + Progress 212-998-0203 skoonin@stern.nyu.edu
Natalia Levina Associate Professor of Information Systems 212-998-0850 nlevina@stern.nyu.edu
Hila Lifshitz Joining Fall 2014 - Assistant Professor of Information, Operations and Management Sciences   hlifshit@stern.nyu.edu
Foster Provost Professor of Information Systems
NEC Faculty Fellow
212-998-0806 fprovost@stern.nyu.edu
Roy Radner Professor of Economics and Information Systems
Leonard N. Stern School Professor of Business
Professor of Environmental Studies
212-998-0813 rradner@stern.nyu.edu
Kristen Sosulski Clinical Assistant Professor of Information, Operations and Management Sciences
Director, Center for Innovation in Teaching and Learning
212-998-0994 ksosulsk@stern.nyu.edu
Arun Sundararajan Professor of Information, Operations and Management Sciences
NEC Faculty Fellow
Doctoral Coordinator, Information Systems
212-998-0833 digitalarun@nyu.edu
Prasanna Tambe Associate Professor of Information, Operations and Management Sciences 212-998-0815 tambe@stern.nyu.edu
Alexander Tuzhilin Chair, Department of Information, Operations and Management Sciences
Professor of Information Systems
NEC Faculty Fellow
212-998-0832 atuzhili@stern.nyu.edu
Norman White Clinical Professor of Information Systems
Faculty Director, Center for Research Computing
212-998-0842 nwhite@stern.nyu.edu

Operations Management Full-time Faculty

The Operations Management faculty is known for cutting-edge research on critical emerging operations and strategy issues. The faculty is a multidisciplinary group with expertise in mass customization, business process design, service operations, value chain management, environmental management, quality, distribution channel management, risk analysis, manufacturing systems design, and global operations strategy.

The OM faculty consult and conduct research on real-world problems in a variety of industries and governmental agencies. These include banking, automobiles, telecommunications, electronics, machine tools, cosmetics, chem icals, pollution control, waste management, consumer goods, airlines, health care, steel, retailing, computers, utilities, and NASA.
 
NAME TITLE PHONE E-MAIL
Arash Asadpour Assistant Professor of Information, Operations, & Management Sciences 212-998-0822 aasadpou@stern.nyu.edu
Mor Armony Associate Professor of Information, Operations, & Management Sciences 212-998-0291 marmony@stern.nyu.edu
René Caldentey George and Edythe Heyman Faculty Fellow
Associate Professor of Operations Management
Head, Operations Management Group
Coordinator
212-998-0298 rcaldent@stern.nyu.edu
Harry Chernoff Clinical Professor of Information, Operations, & Management Sciences 212-998-0289 hchernof@stern.nyu.edu
Srikanth Jagabathula Assistant Professor of Information, Operations, & Management Sciences 212-998-0839 sjagabat@stern.nyu.edu
Ilan Lobel Assistant Professor of Information, Operations, & Management Sciences 212-998-0289 ilobel@stern.nyu.edu
Praveen Nayyar Associate Professor of Operations Management 212-998-0286 pnayyar@stern.nyu.edu
Michael Pinedo Julius Schlesinger Professor of Operations Management
Professor of Statistics and Operations Management
212-998-0287 mpinedo@stern.nyu.edu
Josh Reed Associate Professor of Information, Operations, & Management Sciences 212-998-0584 jreed@stern.nyu.edu
Gustavo Vulcano Associate Professor of Information, Operations, and Management Sciences 212-998-4018 gvulcano@stern.nyu.edu
Wenqiang Xiao Associate Professor of Information, Operations, and Management Sciences 212-998-0945 wxiao@stern.nyu.edu
Eitan Zemel W. Edwards Deming Professor of Quality & Productivity
Vice Dean of Global Programs, NYU Stern
212-998-0292 zemel@stern.nyu.edu
Jiawei Zhang Associate Professor of Information, Operations, & Management Sciences, Operations Management Doctoral Program Coordinator 212-998-0811 jzhang@stern.nyu.edu

Statistics Full-time Faculty

The Statistics Group's primary mission is the preparation of students in the various degree programs. A wide selection of courses, introductory and advanced, applied and theoretical, is the heart of this activity. Student preparation also involves seminars, projects, and the writing of dissertations for the Ph.D. The Stern School of Business is a leader among business schools for the study of statistics and actuarial science. The faculty conducts research at the frontier of knowledge while simultaneously teaching and working in a milieu that requires quick answers to complex questions. Research activities are detailed elsewhere.

Faculty consulting and applications work include projects involving survey sampling, actuarial problems, product testing, marketing, and the modeling of financial instruments. Faculty members also hold key editorship positions on leading professional journals.
 
NAME TITLE PHONE E-MAIL
Xi Chen Joining Fall 2014 - Assistant Professor of Information, Operations and Management Sciences 212-998-4017 xchen3@stern.nyu.edu
Rohit Deo Professor of Statistics and Operations Research
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, Stern Undergraduate College
Robert Miller Faculty Fellow
212-998-0469 rdeo@stern.nyu.edu
Halina Frydman Professor of Statistics and Operations Research 212-998-0453 hfrydman@stern.nyu.edu
Clifford Hurvich Leonard N. Stern Professor of Statistics and Operations Research
Doctoral Coordinator, IOMS-Statistics
212-998-0449 churvich@stern.nyu.edu
Peter Lakner Associate Professor of Statistics and Operations Research
Group Head, IOMS-Statistics
212-998-0476 plakner@stern.nyu.edu
Edward Melnick Professor of Statistics
Deputy Chair, Information, Operations, & Management Sciences
212-998-0444 emelnick@stern.nyu.edu
Patrick Perry Assistant Professor of Information, Operations, & Management Sciences 212-998-0194 pperry@stern.nyu.edu
Jeffrey Simonoff Toyota Motor Corporation Term Professor of Statistics
Professor of Statistics
212-998-0452 jsimonof@stern.nyu.edu
Aaron Tenenbein Professor of Statistics
Faculty Director of Executive MBA Programs
Director, Actuarial Science Program
212-998-0474 atenenbe@stern.nyu.edu


AFFILIATED FACULTY OF IOMS-STATISTICS

NAME TITLE PHONE E-MAIL
Robert Engle Michael Armellino Professor of Management & Financial Services
Director, The Volatility Institute
212-998-0710 rengle@stern.nyu.edu
William Greene Toyota Motor Corporation Term Professor
Professor of Economics
Jules I Backman Faculty Fellow
212-998-0876 wgreene@stern.nyu.edu