NYU Stern
Faculty

Faculty

Viral Acharya
-C.V. Starr Professor of Economics
vacharya@stern.nyu.edu
Banking, Central Bank policy, Derivatives, European Debt Crisis, Housing and Mortgage Markets, Market Design and Regulation, Money Markets, Systemic Risk

Barry Adler
-Bernard Petrie Professor of Law and Business
-Associate Dean for Information Systems and Technology
barry.adler@nyu.edu
Market Design and Regulation

Yakov Amihud

-Ira Rennert Professor of Entrepreneurial Finance
yamihud@stern.nyu.edu
Banking, European Debt Crisis

Menachem Brenner
– Research Professor of Finance
mbrenner@stern.nyu.edu
Derivatives, Market Design and Regulation

David Backus
-Heinz Riehl Professorship in Finance and Economics
-Chair, Department of Economics
dbackus@stern.nyu.edu
Banking, Central bank Policy, European Debt Crisis

Stephen Brown
-David S. Loeb Professorship in Finance
sbrown@stern.nyu.edu
Market Design and Regulation

Jennifer Carpenter
-Associate Professor of Finance
jcarpen0@stern.nyu.edu
Market Design and Regulation

Thomas Cooley
-Paganelli-Bull Professor of Business and International Trade
tcooley@stern.nyu.edu
Banking, European Debt Crises, Housing and Mortgage Market, Market Design and Regulation, Systemic Risk

Itamar Drechsler
-Assistant Professor of Finance
itamar.drechsler@stern.nyu.edu
European Debt Crisis

Robert Engle
-Michael Armellino Professor of Management and Financial Services
-Director, The Volatility Institute
rengle@stern.nyu.edu
Derivatives, Systemic Risk

Stephen Figlewski
-Professor of Finance
sfiglews@stern.nyu.edu
Derivatives, Housing and Mortgage Market

Marcin Kacperczyk
-Assistant Professor of Finance
-Boxer Faculty Fellowship
mkacperc@stern.nyu.edu
Money Market

Stijn Van Nieuwerburgh
-Professor of Finance
-Yamaichi Faculty Fellow
-Director of the Stern Center for Real Estate Finance Research
svnieuwe@stern.nyu.edu
European Debt Crisis, Housing and Mortgage Market

Lasse Pedersen
-John A. Paulson Professor of Finance and Alternative Investments
lpederse@stern.nyu.edu
Banking, Central Bank Policy, Market Design and Regulation, Money Market, Systemic Risk

Emiliano S. Pagnotta
-Assistant Professor of Finance
epagnott@stern.nyu.edu
Market and Design Regulation

Thomas Philippon
-Associate Professor of Finance
-John L. Vogelstein Faculty Fellowship in Finance
tphilipp@stern.nyu.edu
European Debt Crises, systemic Risk

Matthew Richardson
-Charles Simon Professor of Applied Financial Economics
mrichar0@stern.nyu.edu
Banking, European Debt Crises, Housing and Mortgage Market, Market Design and Regulation, Systemic Risk

Nouriel Roubini
-Professor of Economics and International Business
-Robert Stansky Research Faculty Fellow
nroubini@stern.nyu.edu
Banking, European Debt Crisis, Market Design and Regulation, Systemic Risk

Joshua Ronen
-Professor of Accounting
-Peat Marwick Faculty Fellow
jronen@stern.nyu.edu
Market Design and Regulation

Vasiliki Skreta
– Assistant Professor of Economics
vskreta@stern.nyu.edu
Market Design and Regulation

Phillipp Schnabl
-Assistant Professor of Finance
schnabl@stern.nyu.edu
Banking, European Debt Crisis, Money market

Kermit Schoenholtz
-Professor of Management Practice
-Director of the Center for Global Economy and Business
kermit.schoenholtz@stern.nyu.edu
Banking, Central Bank Policy, Derivatives, European Debt Crises, Money Market

Anthony Saunders
-John M. Schiff Professorship in Finance
asaunder@stern.nyu.edu
Banking, Market Design and Regulation

Roy C. Smith
-Kenneth G. Langone Professor of Entrepreneurship and Finance
-Professor of Management Practice
rsmith@stern.nyu.edu
Derivatives

Marti G. Subrahmanyam
-Charles E. Merrill Professor of Finance, Economics and International Business
msubrahm@stern.nyu.edu
Derivatives

Richard Sylla
-Henry Kaufman Professor of the History of Financial Institutions and Markets
-Professor of Economics
rsylla@stern.nyu.edu
Market Design and Regulation

Bruce Tuckman
-Clinical Professor of Finance
btuckman@stern.nyu.edu
Central Bank Policy, Derivatives, Money Market

Laura Veldkamp
– William R. Berkley Professorship in Economics
– Business-term Professorship
lveldkam@stern.nyu.edu
Market Design and Regulation

Lawrence White
-Robert Kavesh Professorship in Economics
-Deputy Chair, Economics
lwhite@stern.nyu.edu
Banking, Housing and Mortgage Market, Market Design and Regulation, Money Market

Ingo Walter
-Vice Dean of Faculty
-Seymour Milstein Professor of Finance, Corporate Governance and Ethics
iwalter@stern.nyu.edu
Banking, Derivatives, Market Design and Regulation

Paul A. Wachtel
-Professor of Economics
-Academic Director, B.S. in Business and Political Economy Program
pwachtel@stern.nyu.edu
Central Bank Policy

Featured Faculty Member(s)

Acharya 200
In "A Proposal for the Resolution of Systemically Important Assets and Liabilities: The Case of the Repo Market," Professors Viral Acharya and T. Sabri Öncü propose the creation of a Repo Resolution Authority-- in essence, a clearinghouse for the repo market-- in order to prevent the kind of runs that characterized the 2008 crisis. "What we propose is that top-down or institution-level approaches such as contingent capital, bail in, or living wills, be built on top of a bottom-up approach, that is, one that works at the level of systemically important assets and liabilities rather than at the level of the systemically important financial institutions that own them."