

Memorandum

Date: Friday, April 21, 2017

To: The Leonard N. Stern School of Business Community

From: President Andrew Hamilton and Provost Katherine E. Fleming

Re: The Search Committee for a Dean of the Leonard N. Stern School of Business

As a first step in identifying a successor to Peter Henry as Dean of the Leonard N. Stern School of Business, a faculty-led Search Committee has been formed. Its members are named below.

Batia Wiesenfeld, department chair and Andre J.L. Koo Professor of Management, has agreed to chair the committee. We are grateful to her and the other members of the Committee for agreeing to undertake this time-consuming and important work, even as they continue their classes, research and other activities. We are confident they will identify and recommend outstanding candidates.

The Committee will hold its first meeting May 3, and Stern representatives on the Committee will reach out to the wider Stern community soon after to seek input before the end of the academic year. Many of you have wide-ranging networks and might therefore suggest qualified candidates for the Sterndeanship. The Committee would welcome your input, as well as any questions you may have regarding the search process. Nominations, questions and other recommendations can be forwarded to Professor Batia Wiesenfeld and the Search Committee at stern_deansearch@nyu.edu. We and the Committee look forward to hearing from you, and thank you in advance for your participation in this important process.

As the Committee begins its work, let us once again thank Dean Henry for his many contributions and outstanding service to the School and the University.

Leonard N. Stern School of Business Dean Search Committee

Batia Wiesenfeld, Chair, Management and Organizations Department and Andre J.L. Koo Professor of Management (Chair)

Yakov Amihud, Ira Rennert Professor of Entrepreneurial Finance, Stern School of Business

Mor Armony, Professor of Operations Management; George and Edythe Heyman Faculty Fellow, Stern School of Business

Jess Benhabib, Paulette Goddard Professor in Political Economy; Professor of Economics, Arts and Science

Kristen Day, Professor and Academic Dean of Administration, Tandon School of Engineering

Alex Dontoh, Professor of Accounting; Deputy Chair, Accounting, Stern School of Business

Joseph Foudy, Clinical Associate Professor of Economics, Stern School of Business

Sherry Glied, Dean; Professor of Public Service, Wagner Graduate School of Public Service

Joe Magee, Associate Professor of Management and Organizations, Stern School of Business

Alison Mass, BS '80, MBA '81, Chair, Stern Board of Overseers

Tom Meyvis, Professor of Marketing; Coordinator, PhD Program in Marketing; Peter Drucker Faculty

Fellow, Stern School of Business

Ellen Schall, Senior Presidential Fellow and Martin Cherkasky Professor of Health Policy & Management at the Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service

Paula Steisel Goldfarb, Associate Dean, Academic Affairs, Financial Aid and Admissions, SternSchool of Business

Shantel Sullivan, MBA Candidate, Class of 2018, Stern School of Business

Lawrence J. White, Robert Kavesh Professor in Economics; General Editor, Review of Industrial Organization, Stern School of Business

Additionally, NYU's new Chief Diversity Officer will join the committee in September, 2017.