2010 Awards

Each year NYU Stern recognizes excellence in education. These awards are conferred upon members of the Stern community that exemplify the commitment to the highest level of achievement. At Graduate Convocation the following awards were presented.

Nichols Award

The Nichols Award honors the memory of C. Walter Nichols, a generous benefactor of the Stern School. The Award was established in 1961 and is conferred annually on a leader who exemplifies the qualities of integrity, enterprise and service, three traits that characterized the distinguished business career of Dr. Nichols and three traits we hold in high regard here at Stern. At Stern's 2010 Graduate Convocation, the Nichols Award will be given to alumnus **John Poindexter (MBA '71, PhD '76)**, Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of J.B. Poindexter & Co., Inc., a diversified manufacturing company. Mr. Poindexter was recently honored by President Obama



with the Presidential Unit Citation, along with 86 veterans of the troop he commanded in Vietnam. The citation recognized their exemplary service and personal sacrifice, and Mr. Poindexter spent seven years focusing on securing this recognition for his troops.

Professor of the Year

J.P. Eggers, Assistant Professor of Management and Operations, was recognized as Professor of the Year. The Professor of the Year is chosen for his/her dedication to outstanding teaching, commitment to students and the embodiment of the Stern community. The student body is responsible for nominating and choosing the recipient of the award.

Administrator of the Year

This year's recipient of Administrator of the Year is **Jeremy Carrine**, Associate Director of MBA Student Activities. Administrator of the Year is a tribute to the Stern Administrator who exhibits the highest standards of excellence, dedication and accomplishment at Stern.

Below are the Academic Prizes and Service Awards that were presented to graduates at a special ceremony on May 12.

The Leonard N. Stern School of Business Alumni Association Award for highest achievement and scholastic attainment

Daniel Elliott Bakken

The Dean's Award for outstanding scholarship

- Daniel Elliott Bakken
- Steven A. Chuang
- Zachary D. Costello
- Asis Echaniz
- Nicholas Ryan Holiday
- Nada Martini
- Melissa J. Penn
- Michael J. Senno
- John David Wardell

The Kenshin Oshima Prize presented to the student(s) with the highest academic achievement at the end of the first year of MBA study

- · Zachary D. Costello
- Asis Echaniz

The W. Edwards Deming Award awarded by Delta Pi Sigma to a distinguished student who has demonstrated excellence in the field of statistics

· Jordan L. Shlachter

The Ernest Kurnow Award given to a graduating student exemplifying excellence in the field of statistics

• Guthrie Chipman Collin

The Harold Price Entrepreneurship Award, established by The Price Institute for Entrepreneurial Studies, for a student pursuing an entrepreneurial career who has attained outstanding achievement in entrepreneurial studies and student leadership

Tao Zheng

The Money Marketeers Marcus Nadler Award for attaining the highest scholastic ranking in the area of banking and finance

Joseph David Jacobs

The Money Marketeers International Award to a graduating international student who has attained the highest scholastic rating in the field of banking and finance

• Suresh Gopalakrishnan

The Money Marketeers Prize for excellence in the field of banking and finance

• Gregory R. Friedman

The Herman E. Krooss Award, established in memory of Professor Herman E. Krooss, for completing the course of studies with distinction and presenting an outstanding doctoral dissertation

• Bryan T. Kelly

The Shigekuni Kawamura (MBA '58) Award, established in memory of our distinguished alumnus, member of the Stern Board of Overseers and NYU Trustee, for outstanding academic achievement in the area of international business

· Jason H. Watters

The Harold W. MacDowell Award established to honor the memory of the long-time director of the doctoral program at the Leonard N. Stern School of Business and awarded to the PhD graduate who best exemplifies qualities of and dedication to scholarship

Karthik Balakrishnan

The Jay Wyner Award, established in memory of our distinguished alumnus Jay S. Wyner (MBA '60), for a graduating student with an undergraduate degree in engineering who has demonstrated academic excellence

• Timothy R. Elliott

Excellence in Accounting Award for academic achievement in accounting

Gregory R. Friedman

Excellence in Economics Award for academic achievement in economics

Sarath C. Kalidindi

Excellence in Management Award for academic achievement in management

Ekaterina Lychko

Excellence in Marketing Award for academic achievement in marketing

Melissa J. Penn

Impact Awards

for academic and extracurricular achievement in entertainment, media and technology

Carolyn J. Demisch

for academic and extracurricular achievement in law and business

Justin Sean Kenlon

for academic and extracurricular achievement in social innovation and impact

Patricia Nowoslawski Kenlon

The Beta Gamma Sigma Alumni in New York City Award for outstanding character, scholastic achievement, participation in collegiate affairs and potential for civic, business or professional leadership

Asis Echaniz

The Joseph H. Taggart Award, established by the alumni of the Leonard N. Stern School of Business, for significant contributions and service to the School and to the University

Kris Ann Brady

The Stern School Service Awards for meritorious service to the School, University and community

- Rebekah S. Ahn
- Jordan Michael Burg
- Christopher P. Cramer
- Todd M. Fellerman
- Adam P. Gromis
- Pamela Y. Lin
- Chima I. Ogbuokiri
- Gianna M. Shepard
- Rebecca Marie Solow

President's Service Awards for distinguished service and contribution to New York University and the community were presented on April 6, 2010

- Stern Women in Business (SWIB)
- Stern Campus Greening Initiative (SCGi)
- Chima I. Ogbuokiri
- Gianna M. Shepard