2011 Awards

Each year NYU Stern recognizes excellence in education. These awards are conferred upon members of the Stern community that exemplify the commitment to the highest level of achievement. At Graduate Convocation, the following awards were presented.

Nichols Award

The Nichols Award honors the memory of C. Walter Nichols, a generous benefactor of the Stern School. The Award was established in 1961 and is conferred annually on a leader who exemplifies the qualities of integrity, enterprise and service, three traits that characterized the distinguished business career of Dr. Nichols and three traits we hold in high regard here at Stern. At Stern's 2011 Graduate Convocation, the Nichols Award will be given to alumnus **John A. Paulson (BS '78)**, Member of the NYU Stern Board of Overseers and Founder and President of Paulson & Co., a New York-based hedge fund.

Professor of the Year

Gary Katzenstein, Visiting Associate Professor of Management, was recognized as Professor of the Year. The Professor of the Year is chosen for his/her dedication to outstanding teaching, commitment to students and the embodim

his/her dedication to outstanding teaching, commitment to students and the embodiment of the Stern community. The student body is responsible for nominating and choosing the recipient of the award.

Administrator of the Year

This year's recipient of Administrator of the Year is **Beth Briggs**, Director of Career Counseling and Operations. Administrator of the Year is a tribute to the Stern Administrator who exhibits the highest standards of excellence, dedication and accomplishment at Stern.

Below are the Academic Prizes and Service Awards that were presented to graduates at a special ceremony on May 18.

The Leonard N. Stern School of Business Alumni Association Award for highest achievement and scholastic attainment

• Ilan David Hausner

The Dean's Award for outstanding scholarship

- Courtney L. Chandler
- Anatoly Garelik
- James A. Goldberg
- Benjamin James Ğolden
- Ilan David Hausner
- Melanie Jimenez Poelma
- Allan D. Kortan
- Benjamin Talbott Reynolds
- Sangeeta N. Ron
- Mark Christopher Simner

The Kenshin Oshima Prize presented to the student(s) with the highest academic achievement at the end of the first year of MBA study

- Allan D. Kortan
- Benjamin James Golden



The W. Edwards Deming Award awarded by Delta Pi Sigma to a distinguished student who has demonstrated excellence in the field of statistics

• Jeff Chaim T. Schwartz

The Ernest Kurnow Award given to a graduating student exemplifying excellence in the field of statistics

• Kevin Thomas Troy

The Harold Price Entrepreneurship Award, established by The Price Institute for Entrepreneurial Studies, for a student pursuing an entrepreneurial career who has attained outstanding achievement in entrepreneurial studies and student leadership

• Joseph P. Traverso

The Money Marketeers Marcus Nadler Award for attaining the highest scholastic ranking in the area of banking and finance

• Benjamin James Golden

The Money Marketeers International Award to a graduating international student who has attained the highest scholastic rating in the field of banking and finance

• Allan D. Kortan

The Money Marketeers Prize for excellence in the field of banking and finance

• Benjamin Talbott Reynolds

The Herman E. Krooss Award, established in memory of Professor Herman E. Krooss, for completing the course of studies with distinction and presenting an outstanding doctoral dissertation

• Xavier A. Giroud

The Shigekuni Kawamura (MBA '58) Award, established in memory of our distinguished alumnus, member of the Stern Board of Overseers and NYU Trustee, for outstanding academic achievement in the area of international business

• Daniela V. Simova

The Harold W. MacDowell Award established to honor the memory of the long-time director of the doctoral program at the Leonard N. Stern School of Business and awarded to the PhD graduate who best exemplifies qualities of and dedication to scholarship

Hong Luo

The Jay Wyner Award, established in memory of our distinguished alumnus Jay S. Wyner (MBA '60), for a graduating student with an undergraduate degree in engineering who has demonstrated academic excellence

• Parth Thakker

Excellence in Accounting Award for academic achievement in accounting

• Nicholas S. Hurley

Excellence in Economics Award for academic achievement in economics

• Holly A. Neiweem

Excellence in Management Award for academic achievement in management

• Michelle Paula Cohen

Excellence in Marketing Award for academic achievement in marketing

• Rachel Ann Melena

Impact Awards

for academic and extracurricular achievement in entertainment, media and technology

• Lisa J. Zusman

for academic and extracurricular achievement in law and business

• Aleksandra R. Zolley

for academic and extracurricular achievement in social innovation and impact

• Ilana B. Fischer

The Beta Gamma Sigma Alumni in New York City Award for outstanding character, scholastic achievement, participation in collegiate affairs and potential for civic, business or professional leadership

• Ilan David Hausner

The Alex Auerbach Award is presented to a first-year, full-time MBA student for meritorious service to the School, University and community

• Steven M. Levine

The Kenneth G. Langone Award is presented to a continuing part-time MBA student for meritorious service to the School, University and community

• Marcia H. Friedkin

The Stern School Service Awards for meritorious service to the School, University and community

- Titilola Bakare
- Andrew J. Chang
- Augusto E. Giacoman
- Ankan Jain
- Michael P. Leahy
- Katherine A. Palmieri
- Evan M. Spielberg

President's Service Awards for distinguished service and contribution to New York University and the community were presented on April 27, 2011

- The Stern Opportunity
- Augusto E. Giacoman

The Joseph H. Taggart Award, established by the alumni of the Leonard N. Stern School of Business, for significant contributions and service to the School and to the University

• Michael P. Tarulli