Share / Print
Research Highlights

Faculty Awards & Accolades – August/September 2017

Faculty Awards & Accolades trophy article
Professors Eli Bartov, Steve Mellas and Glenn Okun were voted "Great Professors" by the Executive MBA class of August 2017.

"When Transparency Pays: The Moderating Effect of Reporting Quality on Changes in the Cost of Debt," co-authored by Professor Christine Cuny and PhD student Svenja Dube, was awarded a Best Paper award at the Sixth Annual Brookings Municipal Finance Conference on July 17.

The American Accounting Association (AAA) recently awarded Professor Yiwei Dou with the 2017 AAA Competitive Manuscript Award for his paper, "The Spillover Effect of Consolidating Securitization Entities on Small Business Lending."

Professor Pankaj Ghemawat was recently named to the 2017 Thinkers50 shortlist for its Strategy Award, which celebrates the very best of strategic thinking.

Professor Anindya Ghose was recently named to the 2017 Thinkers50 shortlist for its Digital Thinking Award, which celebrates the thinker whose work has best helped understand how digital technologies have transformed organizations and human behavior

On August 5, Professor Jason Greenberg received the Outstanding Publication in Organizational Behavior Award for his co-authored paper, "Activist Choice Homophily and the Crowdfunding of Female Founders," at the 2017 Annual Meeting of the Academy of Management in Atlanta.

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has awarded NYU Stern Professors Jason Greenberg, Gino Cattani and Joseph Porac a $294,291 grant to support their research on competition and entrepreneurial performance in the New York City restaurant industry.

Professor Emeritus William Guth was honored with the Chris Argyris Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2017 Annual Meeting of the Academy of Management for his significant and lasting effects on strategic management which span the birth, growth and maturity of the field in its various dimensions, including business policy, strategic management and corporate entrepreneurship.

Professor Xiao Liu received the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) Grant for her project on "Impact of User-generated Content on Purchase Intention: Text-mining of Big Data from Mobile Social E-commerce Platforms."

Professor Bruce Tuckman has been appointed Chief Economist for the US Commodity Futures Trading Commission, effective September 2017.

Professor Amy Webb was recently named to the 2017 Thinkers50 shortlist for its RADAR Award, which celebrates an individual most likely to shape the future of business and business thinking.

Recent alumna Yuqian Xu (PhD '17) was a Best Paper Award finalist at the 28th Annual POMS Conference and Third Place Prize winner at INFORMS Healthcare 2017 for her work, "The Interplay Between Online Reviews and Physician Demand: An Empirical Investigation," co-authored with Professors Mor Armony and Anindya Ghose.