Research Highlights

Faculty Awards & Accolades – March 2015

Professor Aswath Damodaran's co-authored article, "Tesla: Anatomy of a Run-Up," with Bradford Cornell of the California Institute of Technology, received the Journal of Portfolio Management's Outstanding Article Award. The paper offers a detailed anatomy of the nearly seven-fold run-up in the price of Tesla stock between March 22, 2013, and February 26, 2014, and attempts to determine the role played by investor sentiment.

Two Stern professors, Xi Chen and Arun Sundararajan, have been granted 2015 Google Faculty Research Awards. Professor Sundararajan received the award to support his research on trust in the sharing economy and will liaise with Hal Varian, Google's Chief Economist, as his research develops. Professor Chen will liaise with Peng Dai, research software engineer, on his research project on social networks. 

On January 29, Professor Nicholas Economides, along with 35 other academics, submitted a letter of support for network neutrality to the Federal Communications Commission and the Federal Trade Commission.

Dean Peter Henry was awarded the Foreign Policy Association (FPA) Medal at the organization's annual Financial Services Dinner, held at the Pierre Hotel in New York City on February 26. The FPA awards medals annually to leading practitioners of foreign policy and to academics who research and teach in the area of US foreign policy.

Professor Hila Lifshitz-Assaf was recognized by the Industrial Research Institute (IRI) in January for the best keynote speaker of IRI's 2014 Members Summit (see the video: "From the 'Lab Is My World' to the 'World Is My Lab'"). IRI invited Professor Lifshitz-Assaf to have full access to conduct her research (on research and development in organizations in the digital era) with their member organizations.

Xiao Liu, who is joining Stern's Marketing Department faculty this fall, won the 2014 Alden G. Clayton Doctoral Dissertation Proposal Competition, for her paper, "Overhaul Overdraft Fees: Creating Pricing and Product Design Strategies With Big Data." The annual competition recognizes the best doctoral dissertation proposals on important marketing subjects.

Professor Glenn Okun and John Asker, who recently joined the University of California, Los Angeles, were voted "Great Professors" by the Executive MBA Class of January 2015.

Professor Melissa Schilling, with pro-bono help from the Ballard Spahr law firm, submitted an amicus brief on the Forest Laboratories antitrust case. The brief outlined the deleterious impact the ruling could have on the ability of Forest Laboratories, and other pharmaceutical firms, to innovate and produce new products.

The 2014-2015 NYU Stern Glucksman Institute Research Prize, which recognizes the best paper in finance, was awarded to Professor Johannes Stroebel and his co-authors, Matteo Maggiori of Harvard University and Stefano Giglio of Chicago Booth, for their paper, "Very Long-Run Discount Rates." The authors received a prize of $6,000.

Professor Yaacov Trope was awarded the Mentor Award for Lifetime Achievement from the Association for Psychological Science. The award recognizes the significant impact he has had in shaping the future directions of psychological science by fostering the careers of his students and colleagues.

Professor Russell Winer was recently named an inaugural Fellow of the American Marketing Association.