Research Highlights

Faculty Awards & Accolades – June 2017

The Center for Sustainable Business has launched a new series of case studies, including reports on Avery Dennison, Citigroup, Exxaro Resources, Kashi, Nespresso and Nike.

The Norwegian Finance Initiative (NFI) has awarded The Volatility Institute a two-year grant,  totaling more than $300,000, to support its work on the financial economics of climate change, spearheaded by Professor and Nobel Laureate Robert Engle and Professor Johannes Stroebel.

On May 23, Professors Thomas Cooley, Thomas Philippon, Philipp Schnabl, Kim Schoenholtz, Laura Veldkamp, Ingo Walter and Lawrence White, along with 115 other academics, submitted a letter to the Chairs and ranking members of the House Financial Services and Judiciary Committees and the Senate Banking and Judiciary Committees that opposes the repeal of the Orderly Liquidation Authority (OLA), which was created by the Dodd-Frank Act to resolve insolvent systemic financial institutions.

Professor Jonathan Haidt was recently honored with a 2017 Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Award for his role in co-founding Heterodox Academy.

Professor Arun Sundararajan's co-authored paper, "Engineering Social Contagions: Optimal Network Seeding in the Presence of Homophily," received the inaugural Best Paper Award from Network Science, chosen from among all papers published in the journal between 2013-2016.