Banner


IIM Calcutta-NYU Stern
India Research Conference


Hosts
The Financial Research and Trading Laboratory, IIM Calcutta
Center for Global Economy and Business, NYU Stern

Date
October 8, 2021

Program Summary
 
9:00 AM ET/
6:30 PM IST

Welcome and Introductory Remarks
Kose John,
NYU Stern School of Business
 
9:10 AM ET/
6:40 PM IST

Research Paper Session I
Moderator: Jennifer Carpenter
, NYU Stern School of Business

Bank Presence and Health
Kim Cramer,
Columbia Business School

Discussant: Arpit Gupta, NYU Stern School of Business

Winds of Change: Gender Quota on Boards in the Face of Patriarchy
S. Lakshmi Naaraayanan, London Business School
Kasper Nielsen, Copenhagen Business School

Discussant: Lalitha Naveen, Temple U Fox School of Business
 
10:20 AM ET/
7:50 PM IST

Break
 
10:35 AM ET/
8:05 PM IST

Research Paper Session II
Moderator: David Yermack
, NYU Stern School of Business

Do Firms Have a Preference Order While Repaying Lenders? Relationship vs. Transaction Banking
Nitin Vishen, Indian School of Business Hyderabad

Discussant: Vikrant Vig, Northwestern U Kellogg School of Management and London Business School

Pre-Trade Opacity, Informed Trading, and Market Quality
K. Kiran Kumar, Indian Institute of Management Indore
Ramabhadran S. Thirumalai, Indian School of Business Hyderabad
Pradeep K. Yadav, U Oklahoma Price College of Business

Discussant: Jonathan Brogaard, U Utah Eccles School of Business
 
11:45 AM ET/
9:15 PM IST

Break
 
12:00 PM ET/
9:30 PM IST

Keynote Speech
Raghuram Rajan, Katherine Dusak Miller Distinguished Service Professor of Finance at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business and Former Governor of the Reserve Bank of India

The Relationship Dilemma: Why Do Banks Differ in the Pace at Which They Adopt New Technology?

Introduction by Viral Acharya, NYU Stern School of Business
 
1:05 PM ET/
10:35 PM IST

Closing Remarks
Sudhir Jaiswall, India Institute of Management Calcutta