Banner


IIM Calcutta-NYU Stern
India Research Conference


Hosts
The Financial Research and Trading Laboratory, IIM Calcutta
Center for Global Economy and Business, NYU Stern

Date
October 9, 2020

Program Summary
 
8:00 AM ET/
5:30 PM IST

Welcome and Introductory Remarks
Kose John,
NYU Stern School of Business
 
8:10 AM ET/
5:40 PM IST

Households and Firms
Moderator: Jennifer Carpenter
, NYU Stern School of Business

Household Responses to Covid-19 in India
Arpit Gupta,
NYU Stern School of Business
Anup Malani, U Chicago Law School
Slides

Discussant: Cynthia Kinnan, Tufts School of Arts and Science

Economic Policy Uncertainty and Incentive to Smooth Earnings: Evidence from India
Yogesh Chauhan, IIM Raipur
Manju Jaiswall, IIM Calcutta

Discussant: Shyam Sunder, U Arizona Eller College of
Management
Slides

9:20 AM ET/
6:50 PM IST

Break
 
9:35 AM ET/
7:05 PM IST

Misreporting Banks and Zombie Firms
Moderator: David Yermack
, NYU Stern School of Business

The Unholy Trinity: Regulatory Forbearance, Stressed Banks and Zombie Firms
Anusha Chari, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
Lakshita Jain, UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School
Nirupama Kulkarni, CAFRAL, Reserve Bank of India
Slides

Discussant: Sudip Gupta, Fordham Gabelli School of Business

Why Do Banks Hide Losses?
Thomas Flanagan, U Michigan Ross School of Business
Amiyatosh Purnanandam, U Michigan Ross School of Business

Discussant: Laura Blattner, Stanford Graduate School of Business


 
10:45 AM ET/
8:15 PM IST

Break
 
11:00 AM ET/
8:30 PM IST

Keynote Speech
Esther Duflo
, Nobel Laureate and Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics in the Department of Economics at MIT

Introduction by Thomas Philippon, NYU Stern School of Business


 
12:00 AM ET/
9:30 PM IST

Closing Remarks
Sudhir Jaiswall, IIM Calcutta